Planning & Zoning

The Borough also retains a Zoning Officer to regulate the use of land and enforce the Zoning Ordinances. The Zoning Officer, is responsible for the review of all building applications to verify whether a Zoning permit is required. He is also responsible for planning and advertising meetings of the Planning Commission and Zoning Hearing Board.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a body comprised of seven appointed residents that serve a definite term of office. Appointed by Borough Council, the Planning Commission is responsible for reviewing land development plans and other Zoning Appeals. The Commission also prepares the Borough Comprehensive Plan, makes recommendations to Council concerning the adoption of the official map of the Borough. The Borough does not have much open land to subdivide and develop and the Commission on few occasions reviews subdivisions of existing lots in two or more lots. Primarily the Commission spends much of the review on special use permits and making recommendations to the Zoning Hearing Board.
  • Planning Commission Members
    Chair Person - Christopher Bennick 2020 (4yr)
    Vice Chair Person - Brian DeAngelis 2022 (4yr)
    Trisha Lang 2022 (4yr)
    Douglas Trotter, Jr. 2022 (4yr)
    Parmita Perna-Rios 2022 (4yr) 

Zoning and Hearing Board

The Zoning Hearing Board is established pursuant to the Municipal Planning Code. Comprised of five members appointed by Borough Council, the Board meets as needed to hear appeals filed by property owners concerning Special Exception uses and Variances, and appeals from decisions of the Zoning Officer, as provided for in the Zoning Ordinance. (See Code of Ordinance, Chapter 27, Zoning, Part 7). If meetings are warranted, The Board holds them on the third Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m unless otherwise noted.
  • Zoning Hearing Board Members
    Chair Person - Connie Skelly Potts 2020 (5 yr)
    Mike Spencer 2021 (5 yr)
    Lizabeth Fox 2018 (5 yr)
    Jeff Remling 2022 (5yr)
    Christina Bennick 2022 (5yr)